On a hill previously known as Dharagiri, a fort was built by Delhi Sultan Muhammed bin Tuglakh in 1344 while returning from the south. It has three gates. The outer wall is made of red sandstone. The third gate was built in the reign of Aurangzeb. Some construction was also done in the Fort in the 15th and 16th centuries in the Mughal and Maratha periods.
The fort was built on a mountain overlooking the city. Its interiors consist of deep rock-cut cisterns and a part of Raja Bhoj’s palace. It also houses a museum containing small collection of artifacts. One part of the fort is called “Kamal Maula” which is a specious enclosure containing four tombs of Islamic saints – Shaykh Kamal Maulavi and Nizamuddin Auliya. Lath Masjid or Pillar Mosque behind Kamal Maula is made of iron pillars. The masjid was constructed in late 11th century. “Bhoj Shala”, built in 1903, which is situated right besides Kamal Maula is an attraction here. Bhoj Shala (School of Raja Bhoja) has inscriptions for a number of poems written by Raja Bhoj himself and Raja Arjunavarnam, who ruled over a large part of Malwa in early 13th Century AD.
During the Mutiny, rebels occupied the fort but were forced to leave as the British Army fired at it continuously for six days. Nowadays, the local Police are a major presence in the fort. That, however, should not deter visitors from walking around the only group of buildings in the fort that is of significant interest.