Basilica Of Bom Jesus

Panjim, Goa

#Historical and Heritage #Pilgrimage


BEEN HERE

WANT TO VISIT

ADD TO LIST

The Basilica of Bom Jesus is dedicated to St. Francis Xavier. The Construction of the church began in 1594 and completed in May 1605. The church is called 'Bom Jesus' meaning 'good Jesus' or 'infant Jesus'. This church is the first Minor Basilica in India and is regarded as one of the best examples of baroque architecture.

At a distance of 9 km from Panjim Kadamba Bus Stand and 27 km from Vasco Da Gama Railway Station, the famous Bom Jesus Basilica is part of UNESCO World Heritage Site (Churches & Convents of Goa). It is also called St. Francis Xavier's Tomb. It is one of the best Places to visit in Goa and one of the major heritage sites in Goa state. The church is often represented in promotion of Goa Tourism.

The Basilica of Bom Jesus is dedicated to St. Francis Xavier. The Construction of the church began in 1594 and completed in May 1605. The church is called 'Bom Jesus' meaning 'good Jesus' or 'infant Jesus'. This church is the first Minor Basilica in India and is regarded as one of the best examples of baroque architecture.

The imposing facade built out of black granite in an exquisite combination of the Doric, Corinthian and composite styles, is remarkable for its simplicity. It measures 183 ft in length, 55 ft in breath and 61 ft in height. The main altar is 54 ft high and 30 ft broad. The interior of the church is built in Mosaic-Corinthian style. There are paintings of events from the life of St. Francis Xavier.

The Basilica of Bom Jesus enshrines the sacred remains of Goa's patron saint Francis Xavier, who died on a sea voyage to China in 1552. Legend says that when the body of Xavier was transferred to Goa the following year, the body was found as fresh as the day it was buried. The embalmed body of the saint lies in an airtight glass coffin which is placed in a silver casket. It is believed that the saint has miraculous powers of healing. Once every 10 years, the body is allowed to be viewed by the people who visit this holy place. The last time it was in 2014 and the next would be in 2024. 

The House of the Jesuits is next door to the basilica and is the place where the Jesuit missions to the east began. The museum on the first floor has paintings on the life of Saint Francis that can be visited with an entry fee of Rs. 5.

Heavy Crowd during the Feast of St Francis Xavier held annually on 3rd December and proceeded by a nine-day devotional novena.

Timings: Mon-Sat 9 am - 6:30 pm, Sun 10 am - 6:30 pm

#

15.5008938, 73.9116272
Directions